Phases Of The Moon

Phases Of The Moon

In Vedic Astrology, the Moon serves as the horoscope’s centre and is known as the “Chandra Lagna.”  Although according to astronomy, the Moon is a satellite of the earth and rotates around it, the Moon is nevertheless regarded as a highly significant and crucial planet in Vedic astrology. In contrast to the Western Astrology which considers the Sun as the centre of horoscope, in Vedic Astrology Moon carries the same analogy and holds the centre stage.  

The synodic month, or cycle of phases of the Moon that can be observed from Earth, lasts 29 days, 12 hours, 44 minutes, and 3 seconds. If we observe the Moon’s shape for 15 days, it will be clear that the Moon’s shape is constantly changing throughout this period. These changes are referred to as the Moon’s phases. There are eight phases of Moon that can be related to various changes in the shapes or appearance of the Moon and these phases are the New Moon, Wax crescent, First quarter, Waxing gibbous, Full Moon, waning gibbous, last quarter and Wanning crescent.

Moon phases influence our mental state and play a significant role, in human thought, feelings and emotions. Human mind’s actions are governed by the energy of the Moon, which also serves as a carrier for receiving sunlight in the form of rays. The Moon’s movement affects how one feels and how well one can function using the strength of the mind.

According to Vedic Astrology, there are two of major phases of Moon Shukla paksha (waxing Moon) and Krishna pakaha (wanning Moon). Time period for each paksha or the phase is 15 days. According to a Hindu legend, Moon had 27 brides who were Daksha’s daughters, and Rohini was the one most cherished by Moon, and spent the most time with. This was brought up by other daughters to their father Daksha, who then cursed Moon, saying that his influence and stature would deteriorate day by day with the passing time. Moon asked Daksha to reverse his curse, but Daksha advised him to worship Lord Shiva and ask him to free him from this curse. Moon worshipped Lord Shiva and consequently, the impact of the curse was lessened by Lord Shiva, who declared that the Moon would become brighter for 15 days (Shukla Paksha) before waning for 15 days (Krishna Paksha), flowering completely on full Moon day and not appearing on new Moon day. Lord Shiva made a vow to Moon to comfort him, saying that he would wear a crescent in his hair to signify his love for Moon.    

Shukla paksha

Shukla Paksha, commonly known as the waxing or shining phase of the Moon, is the first fortnight of the lunar month and lasts from the New Moon (Shukla Amayasaya) to the Full Moon (Purnima). During this phase, the Moon’s size increases every day until the full Moon.

It is also known as the Moon’s “shinning period,” and it is an auspicious time to conduct religious and spiritual rituals, important ceremonies, family gatherings, and other significant activities. Additionally, it’s a good time for your physical and emotional wellness.

Krisha paksha

Krishna Paksha, commonly known as the Moon’s waning or fading phase, involves Moon’s form gradually disappearing during the course of the Hindu lunar calendar. This is the second fortnight of the Moon or lunar month. It is suggested to refrain from participating in any religious or spiritual rituals or celebration during Krishna paksha. It is said that this time will bring some issues related to mental and physical health.

Pitru Paksha

The 15-day period known as Pitru Paksha is when the family of the deceased carries out rituals to pay respect and bring calm to the soul. The chosen tithi, or day of death falling in Pitru Paksha, is to be used to carry out the concerned ceremonies.

New Moon

The New Moon is sometimes referred to as the “Dark Moon” since it is thought to be the weakest phase of the Moon and is invisible from the ground. Children born on a new Moon experience its darkness, have the same Sun and Moon signs, since the Sun and Moon are on the same axis, and have perfect mental and emotional tuning. People born during this phase have their inner conscience always guiding them in the correct direction leading to a good future. Children born on the New Moon are open to new ideas, problems, challenges, objects, trends, and places to work, are constantly energetic, highly creative, take rapid choice and have a strong personality.

Divine personality and Amavayasa

Lord Hanuman was born on Margashirsha Amavasaya and is regarded as the heavenly Vanara (monkey). On Mahalaya Amavasya, Goddess Durga was born.

People born during this phase may draw energy from both of these Amawasyas, which will help to battle against the dark and pave the way for a brighter future. It is time to destroy any evil energy that keeps one’s mind from thinking positively.   

To please their ancestors, people fast on Amavasya. On Amavasya, it is said that ancestors visit their descendants and offer them food. If food isn’t given to them, it’s thought that they become irritated and curse you.   

Full Moon                                         

The second phase of the Moon, known as the full Moon, is when the Moon is at its brightest. When you look at the Moon from Earth, the Sun and Moon are opposite each other, and the Moon reflects the Sun’s rays in the form of a blessing on the Earth since it is the Moon’s waxing phase.  

In Hindu mythology, keeping a fast on the Full Moon or Purnima is particularly auspicious to please Lord Vishnu. The hours of fasting are from dawn to dusk. It is extremely important to perform the Sataya Narayana Vrat puja in the evening.

You can also recite the “Mahamrityunjaya Mantra” on Full Moon to please Lord Shiva for blessings of a long life, keep away from misfortune, and avoid any tragedies in life.  It is said to be highly powerful mantra which has divine energies linked with it that bring about auspicious results.

On the full Moon, it is said that the energy of the goddesses Laxmi, Parvati, and Saraswati is at its highest, therefore worshipping them brings auspicious results. Goddess Parvati delivers you all you desire in life and bestows serenity and satisfaction, Goddess Laxmi bestows success, wealth and happiness, Goddess Saraswati bestows expertise in your area of work.

Due to the Moon’s emission of dangerous UV radiation, it is suggested to avoid eating cooked food during the lunar eclipse, else it may result in various health problems. Being exposed to the eclipse is said to have negative effects, thus it is best to avoid this.

Scientific Experiments to Analyse the Effects of Full Moon on Health and Behaviour

Scientists have always experimented to gather proof of the effects of Full Moon on human behaviour. Experiments including people made to sleep in a lab during Full Moon night, but none could have a peaceful sleep. This also reduces the ability to make right decisions, hence the belief to postpone all crucial decisions after Full Moon. 

Aristotle noticed that the Moon’s phases had an impact on the water content of the brain. The Moon’s gravitational pull draws the water in the brain towards it when it is full, leading to an off-balance state of mind.


Moon is believed to control the human mind, the emotions and feelings. The various phases of Moon are believed to have varied effects on the human health and behaviour, hence the importance of the same in our lives. Being aware of the probable effects of the upcoming phase of Moon would help in being mentally and physically prepared to pass through the phase without any ill effects, and Astrology plays a key role in extending the required support.  

Scroll to Top